Identity in Photography

07Nov06

“In front of the lens, I am at the same time: the one I think I am, the one I want others to think I am, the one the photographer thinks I am, and the one he makes use of to exhibit his art.” Barthes Camera Lucida 13

101.jpg

Cosplay is when a person dress up as a character from a t.v. show, anime, game, etc. In this particular photo, taken during a cosplay contest, the person decided to dress up as an object from a game. Why this particular picture was chosen was based on the concept of identity. As Barthes stated, there are four parts of identity in a photograph: the one who the subject knows he is, the one the subject portrays himself to others as, the one the photographer sees, and the one that is used to exhibit as art. For the first identity, the identity is unknown since we cannot see the face. The second identity being portrayed to others would be a box from a game. The third identity, as seen by the photographer, would be a contestant in a contest. The last identity would be a participant in the art of cosplay.

-Shua

2 Responses to “Identity in Photography”

  1. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% certain. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Cheers

  2. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and
    engaging, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on
    the head. The problem is something which not enough men and women are speaking intelligently about.

    Now i’m very happy that I found this in my hunt for something regarding this.


Leave a Reply

