Essay by Sandra Kemp

30Nov06

In researching the texts I plan to discuss for my final paper, I came across this essay by Sandra Kemp entitled “‘Myra, Myra on the wall’: The fascination of faces.” In it, Kemp discusses image, identity, and desire in relation to photography. She analyzes several literary texts, including Camera Lucia and “Veronica’s Shrouds” to compare the iconographic images of Princess Diana and Myra Hindley. It’s very long and, in my opinion, not very concise in terms of what exactly her point is (the essay reads more like a series of valid, interesting, but ultimately incohesive points– or maybe I was in over my head), but the references that she makes to literary texts, actual photographs, and the words of other people who have thought about photography and identity, and the analysis of said references, provoke much thought. It’s worth a read, or at least a quick once-over.

– KB

One Response to “Essay by Sandra Kemp”

  1. Hi colleagues, how is all, and what you want to
    say about this paragraph, in my view its really awesome designed for me.


Leave a Reply

